December 9, 2021


Only The Finest Women

Tokyo Olympian Lalremsiami to lead India in women’s junior hockey World Cup | Hockey News

NEW DELHI: Forward Lalremsiami, who was a aspect of the Indian senior women’s hockey team, which completed fourth at the Tokyo Olympics, will lead the country’s 18-member Underneath-21 squad at the FIH Junior Environment Cup starting off in South Africa from December 5.
The celebration will witness 16 best teams from throughout the globe fight for the title which was beforehand received by Argentina in 2016.
Whilst the 21-year-aged Lalremsiami will captain the squad, defender Ishika Chaudhary will shoulder the accountability of vice-captaincy. The team also consists of Salima Tete and Sharmila Devi, who have been section of the senior workforce at the Tokyo Olympics.
Preeti and Prabhleen Kaur have been picked as alternate gamers who will be permitted to compete if there is an personal injury or a person in the squad is dominated out due to COVID-19.
“To choose the closing selection of 18 players was incredibly difficult specially as all 28 gamers in the Main Probable Group worked quite really hard in the past months and manufactured excellent development,” Main Mentor Females, Janneke Schopman explained in a release issued by Hockey India (Hello).
“But we come to feel that we have selected a powerful staff that is ready to compete with just about every group at the Junior Environment Cup.
“With the knowledge from the Senior staff and some terrific young talent we will clearly show the very best India has to give. The team is extremely thrilled as they have waited a extended time to compete at the earth stage and we are wanting forward to producing the most of this wonderful chance.”
India’s finest performance in this prestigious celebration arrived in 2013 wherever they received the bronze medal immediately after beating England.
India, who are grouped in Pool C, will get started their campaign on December 6 in opposition to Russia.
They will consider on defending champions Argentina on December 7 in their second match in the round-robin league, adopted by a clash towards Japan on December 9.
The knockout matches will get area among December 10 and December 16.
The teams in the fray include the Netherlands, Korea, Eire, Zimbabwe in Pool A, England, Belgium, Canada and Uruguay in Pool B. Argentina, India, Japan and Russia in Pool C even though Germany, Spain, United States and South Africa are in Pool D.
India Squad: Lalremsiami (C), Ishika Chaudhary (VC), Bichu Devi Kharibam (GK), Khushboo (GK), Akshata Abaso Dhekale, Priyanka, Marina Lalramnghaki, Ajmina Kujur, Baljeet Kaur, Reet, Vaishnavi Vitthal Phalke, Salima Tete, Sharmila Devi, Magnificence Dungdung, Deepika, Mumtaz Khan, Sangita Kumari, Jiwan Kishori Toppo